Skip to main content

Mel Tillis L-L-L-Laughs It Up With Debut Comedy Album,
You Ain't Gonna Believe This...

Show Dog-Universal Music Set to Release Tillis Comedy Album September 21

NASHVILLE, TN – August 25, 2010 – When thinking of Mel Tillis, several descriptions come to mind:  ‘country music legend,’ ‘respected songwriter,’ ‘accomplished actor,’ and ‘world-class ST-T-T-TUTTERER.’   But one of his lesser known talents is about to be revealed to the world:  Mel Tillis is riotously funny!  On September 21,2010 Tillis releases his debut comedy album, YOU AIN’T GONNA BELIEVE THIS..., on Show Dog-Universal Music.

“As one who stutters, humor has very much been a part of my whole life” says Tillis. “As a matter of fact, it’s been my crutch. The stories that I tell on and offstage are 95% true. If they need a little help, I help ‘em out now and again!”

Tillis’ live shows are known for the hilarious gut-busting humor he brings with him onstage. Show Dog-Universal Music  has capitalized on just that, capturing some of the legend’s very best live comedic action resulting in a Tillis treasure trove of laughs.

Earlier in his career, Tillis won Nashville’s coveted Comedian of the Year award on six occasions.  Tillis also took his comedic side to the silver screen, starring in several major motion picture films including Smokey & the Bandit IICannonball RunCannonball Run IIand most recently, Toby Keith’s Beer for my Horses.  Popular television shows like theDukes of Hazzard and Love Boat  were also avenues for Tillis to show off his funny side.

One could say that country music legend Mel Tillis has just about done it all during his 50+ years in the entertainment business.  Throughout his monstrous career, Tillis has recorded more than 60 albums, has had 35 Top Ten singles, was named the Country Music Association’s coveted Entertainer of the Year, is a member of the Grand Ole Opry and holds country music’s highest honor as a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame.  He has written over 1,000 songs, 600 of which have been recorded by major artists including Kenny Rogers (“Ruby, Don’t You Take Your Love To Town”), George Strait (“Thoughts of a Fool”), and Ricky Skaggs (“Honey, Open That Door”). Broadcast Music Inc. (BMI) named Tillis Songwriter of the Decade for two decades.

For more information on Mel Tillis, visit

Track Listing

1.  Huntin' Buddies (song)
2.  Intro
3.  Sylvester
4.  I'm So Proud Of You
5.  Give Him A Trim
6.  Two Black Eyes
7.  I Thought He Only Had One Eye
8.  Biscuit In The Pocket
9.  Peed On The Matches
10.  You Wouldn't Believe It
11.  Imogene And Henry
12.  Who's Gonna Wear The Dress (song)
13.  Duck Food
14.  Foot Foot
15.  Might Be My Son
16.  Blow It Out With The Hose
17.  I'm A-Paintin' Under This One
18.  Chickens In The Sack
19.  Am I Driving
20.  He Ought-a Said Something
21.  Mole Asses
22.  Cleo
23.  Slowin' Down (song)

# # # 


Popular posts from this blog

Willie Cuts His Hair!!!!!!!!!

They call her..The Bare Naked Bandit..29 yr Old Lee Grace Doherty

ARRESTED now in Colorado...but what a story and week for 2 brothers and their stripper sister!

Text messages and tweets by three fugitive siblings who shot at a police officer and robbed a bank reveal a dangerous mindset and a firm bond between the siblings, "We've certainly seen their mindset when... They shot at a law enforcement officer outside of Tampa Bay, Fla., and when they fired inside that bank in Valdosta, Ga. But these additional texts and tweets have given us additional insight," FBI Special Agent Stephen Emmett told "Good Morning America" today. " We are concerned and feel that they are going to continue and cause problems to say the least for law enforcement." Ryan Dougherty, 21; his sister Lee Grace E. Dougherty, 29; and half-brother Dylan Dougherty Stanley, 26, have been on the lam since Aug. 2 when they shot at a police officer attempting to pull their white Subaru Impreza over for speeding. A few hours later, they robbed a bank in Georg…

Cole Swindell On A Roll

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – (March 2, 2017) – Award-winning songwriters Cole Swindell, Ashley Gorley and Zach Crowell(each recent CMA Triple Play Award winners) gathered with fans, friends and industry notables Tuesday night at the Warner Music Nashville office to celebrate the No. 1 hit “Middle of a Memory,” from Swindell’s recently certified RIAA Gold album You Should Be Here. “Middle of a Memory” became Swindell’s record-breaking sixth consecutive No. 1 single (breaking his own record) and ninth overall as a songwriter. 

Swindell, the six-time Platinum-selling No. 1 hit songwriter is the only solo artist in the history of Country Aircheck/Mediabase to top the chart with his first SIX singles.

“Middle of a Memory,” recently certified Gold® by the RIAA, is the followup to the Platinum-certified, 1+ Billion-reaching smash single “You Should Be Here.” 

Each of the six singles and two albums Swindell has released since he signed with Warner Bros. Records three years ago have not only all gone to N…